Milestones

Yesterday, I took the class Microsoft Project 2010 Level 1 at New Horizons Computer Learning Center as part of my curriculum to prepare for my PMP (Project Management Professional) certification. I of course quickly fell in love with the software because it is seriously like Excel on crack which make a project organizer / make ideas come to life kind of girl like me very excited.

One of the features in the Gantt Chart view which translates to many different areas is milestones. For MS Project, milestones are essentially one day occurrences that are significant in the life of a project. The example that was used for a milestone was the president of the company will be in town visiting for the day and so this is a milestone in the project because we will want to be able to share with the president our progress to date on this initiative.

I woke up thinking that today my word of the day is milestone. Why? Specifically my Goddaughter Adrienne is 20 years old today.  Yes, of course this is a big day for her and her family but it is also a big day for me as well. I remember exactly where I was 20 years ago the hour that Adrienne was born, at the East Hill Sailing Club’s 6th Annual Pointless Regatta on Lake Lewisville.

My friends Janet and Kimberley and I who were working in American Airlines’ Product Design group at the time, had spent the week prior preparing including a lunch shopping trip to Long John Silvers (remember their paper captain hats) and Goodwill. And our efforts paid off as we were awarded the “Best Theme Boat” Trophy for our Pirates and Winches/Wenches theme.

Adrienne was actually born in the wee hours the morning after but those were the days when I still partied into the night because we were in our 20s too. By the time I arrived home even later in the morning on the 23rd, I found a note on my bed progressing Michelle’s labor. Yes, this was before everyone having and wearing cell phones as an accessory so they knew what was instantly happening all over the world.

And come to find out, Adrienne was a little girl. Michelle had decided to wait and see but for some reason (possibly even the sonograms), everyone thought Michelle would be having a little guy. I think Michelle really wanted a little girl and she went with her favorite 90’s clothing designer’s name (Adrienne Vittadini) first name.

Michelle has always been the style conscious maven but especially so as we were working girls after the late 80’s movie Working Girl with Melanie Griffin, Sigourney Weaver, Harrison Ford, and an extremely young Alec Baldwin with a terrific Carly Simon soundtrack came out.   

Carly Simon’s Let The River Run

So after a short nap, I toss on a very creative suit that I wish I had a photo of or would have kept for my scrapbook and some incredible hot pink pumps (they matched my headband, see below) and headed for the airport that Sunday so I could meet Adrienne on her first day on earth.

This is our friend Lee, with Adrienne’s cousin Hayley who is just a few months older… Now Lee is a dad of 3 with his oldest starting his senior year of high school…

The next morning, I hopped a 6:30am flight back to Dallas so I could be to work on time.  Ah, those were the days.

So now, Miss Adrienne is 20 and attending University of Oklahoma, where she seems to be doing fabulously.   She pretty much sees me as one of her mom’s BFFs and maybe one day, she will know how special she is to me.  Probably about the time, she becomes a Godparent to someone very special to her.

I won’t go into where the last 20 years went because anyone my age and older know they sped by.  But as this is a milestone in Adrienne’s life and a milestone in the life of those who love her and have known her as long as I have, it is ironic that this day may have another smaller insignificant milestone for me.  I’m going to test for the second half of my A+ certification.  Without going into the long story, this is not a certification I went in search of but it has taken a big chunk of the last almost 8 weeks of my life and I’m praying this test will close this chapter positively as I move forward toward pursuing my PMP certification.

Funny, some 20 + years later, I really do not remember my 20th birthday but I do remember Adrienne’s day of birth and several of the birthdays I was blessed to get to share with her.  Happy Birthday and enjoy your journey!

Love,

Kim

Oops, I forgot to mention Adrienne’s other Godmother who was actually there when Adrienne arrived. Carleen was there holding Michelle’s hand and giving her ice chips. What a pleasure to get to know Carleen over the last 25 plus years. Thank you Carleen for cleaning up a few of my messes along the way too. What an angel you are – you and Michelle are my super smart, achiever women friends that I love getting to see in action! If I had a photo of you from that day I would have included it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kim Cooley says:

    Oops, I forgot to mention Adrienne’s other Godmother who was actually there when Adrienne arrived. Carleen Barth was there holding Michelle’s hand and giving her ice chips. What a pleasure to get to know Carleen over the last 25 plus years. Thank you Carleen for cleaning up a few of my messes along the way too. What an angel you are – you and Michelle are my super smart, achiever women friends that I love getting to see in action! If I had a photo of you from that day I would have included it.

Leave a Reply

